Home > What is Psoriasis? > Erythrodermic Psoriasis

What is Psoriasis – Erythrodermic Psoriasis

The 7 Types of Psoriasis

Knowing which kind of psoriasis you have helps you and your doctor make a treatment plan. Most people only have one type at a time. Sometimes, after your symptoms go away, a new form of psoriasis will crop up in response to a trigger.

Here’s how you can spot the 7 types of psoriasis.

Erythrodermic Psoriasis

This type is the least common, but it’s very serious. It affects most of your body and causes widespread, fiery skin that appears burned. You might also have:

  • Severe itching, burning, or peeling
  • A faster heart rate
  • Changes in body temperature

If you have these symptoms, see your doctor right away. You may need to get treated in a hospital. This type of psoriasis can cause severe illness from protein and fluid loss. You may also develop an infection, pneumonia, or congestive heart failure.

Triggers include:

  • Suddenly stopping your systemic psoriasis treatment
  • An allergic drug reaction
  • Severe sunburn
  • Infection
  • Medications such as lithium, anti-malarial drugs, cortisone, or strong coal tar products

Erythrodermic psoriasis may also happen if your psoriasis is hard to control.

Erythrodermic Psoriasis

Erythrodermic Psoriasis


Did you know there are 7 types of Psoriasis ?

Click the links below for more information

  1. Plaque Psoriasis
  2. Guttate Psoriasis
  3. Inverse Psoriasis
  4. Pustular Psoriasis
  5. Erythrodermic Psoriasis
  6. Nail Psoriasis
  7. Psoriatic Arthritis